Check Out the 2019 New Year's Honours

Geraint Thomas OBE

Sports stars and Thai cave rescuers among those honoured

The New Years Honours list has been announced and Geraint Thomas has been awarded an OBE for services to cycling after winning this year's Tour de France.

Secretary of State for Wales Alun Cairns said: “There were few sporting performances this year that captivated the country more than Geraint Thomas’ epic pursuit over the mountain stages of the Pyrenees and the Alps. Together with his team mates Geraint displayed the immense grit and determination needed to secure and keep hold of that coveted yellow jersey.

“He is a brilliant ambassador for cycling, an inspirational role model and thoroughly deserves his place in history. Congratulations Geraint on your well-deserved honour.”

Two members of the South and Mid Wales Cave Rescue team have been awarded the George Medal - the second highest civilian gallantry award.

John Volanthen and Richard Stanton were two of the expert divers who helped save the Thai football team, the Wild Boars, trapped in a cave earlier this year.

Mike Peters, frontman of rock band The Alarm, receives an MBE for voluntary services to cancer care in north Wales and abroad.

Triathlete Helen Jenkins, who was raised in Bridgend, gets an MBE. 

Secretary of State for Wales Alun Cairns said: “As the highest achieving British female triathlete in history over the Olympic discipline, Helen Jenkins has made a seminal contribution to securing Great Britain’s place as the most successful triathlon nation in the world.

"Encouraging young people to ‘get sweaty’ and promoting a positive body image, Helen is a not only a great sportswoman but also an enduring role model for young people all over Wales. My warmest congratulations to Helen – a worthy recipient.”

Morriston Hospital Ward G sister Melanie Davies, a nurse with a passion that extends way beyond her everyday responsibilities, has been awarded the MBE.

Dr Heather Potter, general practice principal at The Medical Centre in Skewen, has been awarded the BEM.

Meanwhile, ABMU’s former Director of Corporate Governance, Steve Combe, was awarded the MBE.

Port Talbot RNLI volunteer Robert Harris has been awarded an MBE in this year’s New Year’s Honours list. 

Cardiff-based Police Constable Richard Paines has been awarded the British Empire Medal (BEM) while Chief Superintendent Belinda Davies receives the Queen’s Police Medal.

Alan Peterson is Chairman of NSPCC's Appeal Board, which is on course to raise £3million over three years. He's been awarded an OBE for services to charitable fundraising.



More from Local