Wales 2019 Rugby World Cup squad named

Squad announced by community clubs in video

Wales have named their 2019 Rugby World Cup squad which features 13 players with World Cup experience.

There are 18 forwards and 13 backs in the team announced by the nation’s community clubs:


Five props have been named in Nicky Smith, Wyn Jones, Rhys Carre, Tomas Francis and Dillon Lewis.

Ken Owens, Elliot Dee and Ryan Elias are included as the three hookers in the squad.

Captain Alun Wyn Jones has already featured in three Rugby World Cups and played in 15 tournament matches. He’s been named as one of four second rows alongside Jake Ball, Adam Beard and Cory Hill.

Wales have named six back rows in James Davies, Ross Moriarty, Josh Navidi, Aaron Shingler, Justin Tipuric and Aaron Wainwright.

Gareth Davies, Aled Davies and Tomos Williams are named as the scrum-halfs with Dan Biggar and Rhys Patchell as the fly-halfs.

Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes and Owen Watkin feature as the centres in the squad with Josh Adams, Hallam Amos, Leigh Halfpenny, George North and Liam Williams included as the back-three selections.

"Selection is always the toughest part of the job and that is especially true come RWC time," said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

"Reducing the squad down to 31 has been extremely hard especially when you look at the depth we have created and the amount of the work the training squad have put in, for some, 14 weeks of training.

"We are really happy with the final 31, we feel there is an excellent blend to the squad, in terms of talent, experience and age profile and we are all incredibly excited about heading to Japan and what lies ahead.

"These players have performed and delivered for Wales and deserve the opportunity to represent their nation at the game’s showpiece tournament."





Jake Ball - Camberley | Scarlets (35 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Adam Beard - Birchgrove RFC | Ospreys (15 Caps)

Rhys Carre - St Joseph's | Saracens (1 Cap)

James Davies - Whitland | Scarlets (5 Caps)

Elliot Dee - Newbridge RFC | Dragons (21 Caps)

Ryan Elias - Carmarthen Athletic | Scarlets (8 Caps)

Tomas Francis - Malton & Norton | Exeter Chiefs (42 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Cory Hill - Pontypridd | Dragons (24 Caps)

Alun Wyn Jones - Bonymaen | Ospreys (127 Caps) (2007/11/15 RWC)

Wyn Jones - Llandovery | Scarlets (14 Caps)

Dillon Lewis - Beddau | Cardiff Blues (14 Caps)

Ross Moriarty - Morriston | Dragons (33 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Josh Navidi - Bridgend Athletic | Cardiff Blues (18 Caps)

Ken Owens - Carmarthen Athletic | Scarlets (66 Caps) (2011/15 RWC)

Aaron Shingler - Hendy | Scarlets (20 Caps)

Nicky Smith - Waunarlwydd | Ospreys (30 Caps)

Justin Tipuric - Trebanos | Ospreys (65 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Aaron Wainwright - Whitehead RFC | Dragons (11 Caps)         



Josh Adams - Hendy RFC | Cardiff Blues (13 Caps)

Hallam Amos - Monmouth RFC | Cardiff Blues (20 Caps)(2015 RWC)

Dan Biggar - Gorseinon | Northampton Saints (72 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Aled Davies - Whitland | Ospreys (19 Caps)      

Gareth Davies   - Newcastle Emlyn | Scarlets (43 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Jonathan Davies - Whitland | Scarlets (75 Caps) (2011 RWC)

Leigh Halfpenny - Gorseinon | Scarlets (81 Caps) (2011 RWC)

George North - Llangefni RFC | Ospreys (85 Caps) (2011/15 RWC)

Hadleigh Parkes - Hunterville |Scarlets (17 Caps)          

Rhys Patchell - CRICC | Scarlets (12 Caps)         

Owen Watkin - Bryncethin | Ospreys (16 Caps) 

Liam Williams - Waunarlwydd | Saracens (57 Caps) (2015 RWC)

Tomos Williams - Treorchy Zebras | Cardiff Blues (8 Caps)       

More from Local

Cover art for Waiting All Night

On Air

Spence Macdonald playing Rudimental / Ella Eyre - Waiting All Night